Skip to content

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow

December 10, 2008
I like to turn on the soft music channel while drive to and from work.  The trip might only be 10 mins but it beats listening to the NPR radio news.
 
But this season, all they have on the soft music channel are Christmas carols.  My favourites are "O, Holy Night" and "Silver Bells".  But these kinds of music tenf to linger in your ears for very, very long even after I come out of the car!  My 3-year-old daughter can read now and when I showed her the lyrics, she’ll hum the carols with 80% of the lyrics correct.  Last Christmas I taught her to recite 2 songs but because they were pure memorization, she forgot both songs completely.  This year, she likes "The Little Drummer Boy" and "Winter Wonderland".
 
This morning, I turned on the news accidentally and was terribly disgusted to learn about Rob Blagojevich.  Rob who?  Well, I don’t really know how to pronounce his name but the Economist said he has the hair of a Kennedy but the tongue of a &^*%^$%.  See below:

>

 
Back to Christmas, ah yes, my 3-year-old.  She had an odd view of who Santa is.  That’s because I corrupted her with a realistic image of Santa.  I told her I usually quarrel with Santa when I see him because all he asks of me is a present for her.  That he’s dirty and likes to climb down the chimney when the door is always available.  That he’s as fake as the shopping mall.  That most children have their father faking Santa.  But the power of the television actually adjusted her from my view to the innocent-children view very successfully.   Even meteorologists report Santa’s trail to add to the parents’ lies. Now, at least I don’t have to pretend that Santa is real like everyone here.  And since she doesn’t know how to read the calendar yet, I will tell her it’s over on Boxing day.  But in the meantime, Christmas, between me and her, is caroling.  So "Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…"
 
 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Vicky permalink

    Amanda, you\’re so smart to not be taken in by your dad. Beware, in no time, whatever you say is wind blowing by…

Leave a Reply

