Skip to content

D C by foot and Metro Subway

January 6, 2009

Washington D C is not as cold as Erie, but on a windy day, walking can be uncomfortably nippy.  There was not a drop of snow this day and I took time between interviewing and minicourse to eat in a Chinese Ramen (手工拉面) Place.  My daughter wanted shumai (烧卖)but they were out, so we ordered beef tendor noodles(牛腩面 ), soya milk (豆浆 ) and you jia kway ( 油条) and xiao long pao (小龙包 ),   Everything was delicious but the xiao long pao (小龙包 ), which they tried to push to sell as their 招排 dish was miserable.  Everything comes up to about eighteen dollar.  The place is crowded, untidy and messy.  The first thing that comes to my mine was:  would any president of US come here to eat, ever?

After my minicourse, we hit the Metro RED Line again but just randomly get off at Faragut North.  Initially, we walked in a wrong direction and reached M Street instead of K Street.  We were greeted by huge block buildings and wide sidewalks.  My wife could help but whipped out her Canon DSLR to shoot pictures of these gigantic lighted buildings.  Two blocks in DC is more like 10 blocks in Chinatown Singapore!   Plus, we’re dragging a four-year-old who either is genuinely tired or is manipulating us to carry her.

Then we turned to go along 21st Street to 19th Street.  There was a lot of road work amid the crowd and we’re still seeing blocks of huge squarish buildings.  On 19th Street we’re beginning to see restaurant.  The first Asian/Japanese restaurant we saw looked really expensive.  It was 5:00PM and we walked a block back from K Street back to L Street and although I could still feel the food from lunch, I feel we could use a place to rest.  The second Asian place we saw is called Nooshi.  The first thing we did was to go near the door and read the menu.  This turned out to be a very famous restaurant in D C which I read later online.  I looked at the price of each item and knocked my head.  But my mine was looking for a Sam Woo, a Korean restaurant, I read about this afternoon which is also on 19th Street.  "Why don’t I walk another block to look for Sam Woo while you wait here?"  said me to my wife and kid.  I walk approximately 10 meter and in front of me, I saw Singapore Bistro.  This is a restaurant we found on line even while we were in Erie!  What a pleasant surprise! 

When we were in Bistro, I asked for where the toilet is and heard the waiters/waitresses were conversing in Bahasa Indonesian!  So we had a chat with the people working there.  After a warm nice dinner (Singapore Lamb Noodles and Mee Baso) and hundreds of exchange greetings in Indonesian, we learnt that the former owner is Singaporean but now it’s managed by a Beijinger.  So I joked "Kenapa namanya ngga ganti ke Beijing Bistro?" (why isn’t the named changed to Beijing Bistro instead?)  This warm nice dinner cost us less than $30!  What a treat in such a posche restaurant on this famous gourmet street of D C!

We were deciding whether to potty our four-year-old before we left and we didn’t.  Another few blocks down,  she wants to potty.  We were just outside Au Bon Pain and wanted to go in but worried about having to buy an expensive tea/coffee just for her toilet using then I spotted behind the construction across the street was a Borders Book Store!  Without hesitattion, we crossed the big street and found warmth and comfort in that book store.

Then it’s another block to the Metro heading north to Shady Grove.  Faragut North to Shady Grove is about 15 stops and takes about 40-45 mins.  At first it was crowded…

Despite that, we found two separate seats.  And seeing the person next to me using his laptop, I whipped out my MacBook and started taking photos while reading my work.  Seven or eigth stops later the train crowd loosened.

Most people read in the subway in D C.  The crowd wasn’t as bearing as that of MRT. One can always find seats.
Then just before we get off, here’s what it looks like…

When we got out and headed for the bus, I realize we misssed our bus and the next one is about 30 minutes wait.  That’s a long wait by Singapore standard.  But in Erie, it could be an hour and 10 minutes!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

