Skip to content

O my Malaysian Dharma Teachers

October 6, 2016

The only way I can have encounter with the Dharma is either with books or with the internet.  Like how I was influenced into the culture in Mathematics, I advocate it to personal interaction with high level Mathematicians and Theoretical Physicists.  One can learn Physics until he got an A1 or A2 in ‘O’ level or ‘A’ level, but when one talks to a Nobel Laureate, one can feel that the learning has not reach a 妙、不可思议level.  This is not something one can show, but it is something that one can definitely feel he is there.  I guess that is why they say “Cloud 9”.  If you are among the clouds, the feeling is certainly wonderful, and you know you are about there but you cannot show or describe to anyone, that you are already there.

So I must thank the few Malaysian teachers that I learned from on YouTube, they greatly influenced and taught me, they give me the 精进心 (perseverance) or virya–an energy to continue and better what I do.  If a country want to win an olympic medal who would be better than a medalist who also went to a similar primary/secondary school, eat the same hawker center Economic Beehoon and talk with the same Singlish /Malaysian accent as you?

法轩法师-faxuanfashi is a Malaysian who gave Dharma talks in Mandarin and Cantonese.  His Cantonese has such a strong Malaysian-Singapore accent, he reminded me of myself learning to speak Cantonese in Toronto with Hongkongers in early 90’s.  Every word sounds like its Mandarin equivalence.  For instance we pronounce 非常,开始,or 始终,wrong in Cantonese because of our habits in Mandarin.  (Another example the very short 夕阳无限好 took me very, very long to  finally say correctly in Cantonese.)  Even though his accent were laughable, he was invited to speak in Hong  Kong and many parts of Cantonese speaking Malaysia to give Dharma talks.  He was able to relate to everyday Singaporean/Malaysian Chinese, and I spend many, many hours absorbing 善知识 from him.   Faxuan had experience as a Theravada monk in his younger days, so he knows both the Theravedan and the Mahayanist way.  He speaks at a level any typical Singaporean/Malaysian Chinese can understand even though he is well versed in Leng Yan (楞严)Sutra and is deep in the Dharma knowledge.

unnamed

尘聪法师 also known as Lama Yeshe now is a Tibetan lama receiving transmission from Nubpa Rinpoche.  I consider myself very fortunate to have found Lama Yeshe’s talk on the internet.  Lama yeshe was a big time lawyer in Malaysia until he realize that vexation (烦恼) has no roots and leave the house to become a Chinese Mahayanist Buddhist monk.  Then he found Nubpa Rinpoche, a Tibetan who reduced himself to a lowly gardener whilst suffering persecution in PRC.  So Lama Yeshe followed Nubpa Rinpoche because he saw the Metta and kindness in Nubpa Rinpoche.  To say that Lama Yeshe’s is powerful is an understatement.  When he talks, I feel a lion roaring the truth very loudly and clearly.  But I also hear his chinese talk peppered with English and Singlish.  And he pronounced 心 (heart) as ‘sim’ — something only Hokkien and Teochew people would do.

Taku Umi Chen (Brother K.C. Chen) — Takuumi must be very young when I first heard his Dharma on the internet a few years ago.  Now he is ordained as a Buddhist Monk.  As a child, he would follow his mother to a buddhist temple and many times, they would chant the sutra for a  few hours.  And with that, he could recite(背) some of the sutras, e.g. the Ksitigarbha Sutra.  When he was just a upasaka, I would listen to his talk about the importance of the Surangama Sutra.  Later when I researched more on the net, I found that I need to attend (minimum) something like 136 lessons from 淨心長老.  Each lesson will be an hour long and after each lesson, I probably need to do homework (including practice) of 2-4 hours each time, to fully understand the details of the sutra.  I tried it for a few lessons and find it very slow and long.  But since Takuumi suggested (提倡) chanting the mantra instead, I followed Takuumi’s YouTube version (20 mins) and started chanting the mantra a few times a day hoping to memorize it.  After a year and a half, I think I finally got it in my head and I would do 7 times a day every day.  This involved waking up very early in the morning because I hope to finish them and do some sitting meditation before the sunrise.  Takuumi is very cheerful each time in his talk.  He is said to know Japanese and is very good in Chinese especially with those deep, deep words from the Buddhist sutras.  But I like it because he is also well versed in Sanskrit and for that reason, he advocated the Surangama mantra in Sanskrit, even though the Chinese transliterated version is more commonly heard in Buddhist temple every morning for 早课. A  pdf file containing that can be downloaded from his cloud by clicking here.

mbva 馬來西亞尊勝佛學會

Background Image of TAku Umi ‘s page.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

